Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Calls for Nominations for Educators Hall of Fame

CCSD Calls for Nominations for Educators Hall of Fame

The Cherokee County School District is calling for nominations of outstanding retired educators for its hall of fame!  

The CCSD Educators Hall of Fame recognizes retired educators who made significant contributions during their career in CCSD and left a lasting positive impact on the lives of students, colleagues and our community.

“We believe our educators are rockstars among us and all-stars who hit home runs for our students every day.  Just as we recognize musicians and athletes with halls of fame, we want to celebrate our educators with the same prestigious honors,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “We’re grateful for the Cherokee County Educational Foundation’s initiative in beginning this program and look forward to expanding it with a call for community nominations.”    

The nonprofit foundation, which supports CCSD with fundraising and advocacy, began the hall of fame in 2016 with nominations made by its board.  While CCEF will continue to fund the program through its sponsorship, the hall of fame now will be overseen by CCSD with the call for nominations from the community.  Current members of the CCSD Educators Hall of Fame are: Dr. Susan Buice, Patsy Jordan, Gene Norton, Dr. Frank R. Petruzielo, Janice Prather, Frankie Shepherd and Carolyn Turner.  

As many as 10 winners who meet the judging committee’s expectations of excellence will be selected into a class each year.  Additionally, any educator honored by CCEF as one of its two Alumni of the Year award winners will continue to be automatically inducted into the hall of fame.  

Class of 2024 inductees will be notified in mid to late January 2024 and honored in February with a celebratory reception.   

Nominations may be made through Dec. 31, 2023 by using the online form at  Nominees must be retired CCSD educators (teacher, certified district administrator, Superintendent of Schools) who served a minimum of 20 years with the district or served as Superintendent; posthumous nominees will be accepted.  There is no minimum number of years for which a nominee must be retired, and they do not have to reside in Cherokee County. 

For more information, please contact Penny Dempsey at or 770.479.1871.